Why you should submit a call for text…

Experiences from former participants…

Betty Anne Schwarz MSc, RN, BA, Doctoral Candidate

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAHow did you find the process of applying for the conference?

I received an email from the University asking for Call for papers and I submitted a abstract it was that easy.

What subject was your presentation/poster/display on?

My subject was an Abstract of my DProf Study: Developing a Standardized Tool for Interpretation of Radiology Diagnostic Accuracy Trials.

What did it feel like presenting your work?

Unfortunately I was not there in person (Canada). My study was presented as a poster. But dissemination of your research is very important as it can create dialogue within the academic community and increased knowledge from others. Therefore, I strongly encourage it!

 

Fragkiskos Sardis

How did you find the process of applying for the conference?Fragkiskos Sardis

The application process was simple and quick.

What subject was your presentation/poster/display on?

My presentation was about service coordination in the Cloud based on user mobility and application requirements.

What did it feel like presenting your work?

Presenting my work was a pleasant experience. Many students attend the summer conference along with university staff but the atmosphere is quite relaxed which helps a lot building confidence. The questions from the audience can help reflect on the work and identify potential areas of focus as well as introduce new ideas and approaches towards the researcher’s goal.

What did you enjoy most about the event?

The most enjoyable part of the event is the exchange of ideas with other researchers. Even when research topics differ, the methods and approaches used by other people may prove applicable and useful to someone else’s work. When I attended the event, I was not aware that there were prizes for the best presentation which made me even happier at the end of the event when I was told that I won a prize for my presentation. This added bonus made the experience even more worthwhile for me.
 
Why would you recommend it to other students?

I would definitely recommend it to all the students. Not for the prize but for the opportunity to present and reflect on your work in front of a familiar audience without the stress of being scrutinised and criticised. Students should try to make the most of this event by discussing with other people and finding possible areas of collaboration and exchange of ideas.

 

Elena Arora MBPsS
 
How did you find the process of applying for the conference?Elena Arora

I found the process really straight forward as I only needed to complete a couple of forms which were available via email.

What subject was your presentation/poster/display on?

I did a poster presentation on the subject of Joyful laughter in the therapy room – grounded theory study.

What did it feel like presenting your work?

I felt really anxious at first as I have never presented my work before to a large group of strangers. But everyone was very friendly and welcoming. A lot of people asked me interesting questions and I totally forgotten about how nervous I felt at first.

What did you enjoy most about the event?

I enjoyed presenting my work. I also attended other people’s presentations which were very interesting. This experience helped me to compare different presenting styles to mine and build my confidence for the future presentations.

Why would you recommend it to other students?

It is an excellent place to practice presenting to a wide group of people and to get feedback from those who are not familiar with your subject matter as much as your peers.
 
Do you have any other comments regarding the event:

I really enjoyed this event. It was very well organised and the atmosphere was really nurturing and supportive despite a wide range of subjects covered by the presenters. My participation in this conference helped me to feel more confident in myself as a developing researcher. It also made me want  to present my work at other conferences which I will be doing this year.

 

Jackie Richards

How did you find the process of applying for the conference?Jackie at presentation 3

I have presented twice, in 2013 with a poster and in 2014 I gave a presentation. After thinking whether it was worth making the time to get involved, do the preparation and present, I decided to make the effort and go for it! The application process was straightforward – look at the themes on offer, decide which is applicable, write a summary, email it in and wait to hear if your application is accepted.

What subject was your presentation/poster/display on?

My poster showed the processes of developing the proposal for my DProf and how I hoped it would progress. The presentation was about my methodology which adapted as my varied work evolved.

What did it feel like presenting your work?

I felt  vulnerable beforehand as I thought there would be so many clever people presenting intellectual obscure work and I was presenting my thought processes and  work about active older people participating in creative dance. It was daunting but I really enjoyed presenting both years. I learned how to use Publisher and was able to produce a poster with text, pics, grids and graphs. I was proud of it and delighted when I won  a prize! I enjoyed doing my doing my presentation  because it gave me a chance to share my experience of the DProf process and get feedback from peers and staff.

What did you enjoy most about the event?

Doing a DProf can be lonely and it was great to be part of a university event and hear how doctorate students from other faculties are spending their time dedicating themselves to learning and creating new knowledge. It was a very friendly, interesting and exhilarating day and  unforgettable!  I also enjoyed the intergenerational aspect where younger and older students were coming together to share their work and there were such a wide range of topics and disciplines presented.

Why would you recommend it to other students?

Here are three reasons –
1. It gives you a chance to clarify your thoughts and present them to others and this builds your confidence to carry on and progress doctorate further.
2. It allows you to receive feedback, advice, critical thoughts and praise from your peers and some academic staff
3. There are opportunities to learn from others and make new friends from other faculties.

Do you have any other comments regarding the event:

Although an  emotionally charged  day if you are presenting; you putting your on the line for others to judge you; it is enjoyable, productive, fun and a conference you will remember! If you are well-received you know that you can communicate your ideas clearly to others. I bought a Kindle with my prize voucher and so have a long-lasting, useful gift. If I got my poster prize I am sure anyone else can potentially win as well. – Give it a try!

Good luck, be bold and don’t be shy!

 

Tom Mann

How did you find the process of applying for the conference?

Quite simple. Supported if required. Reasonably prompt reply to the application.

What subject was your presentation/poster/display on?

At-risk students succeeding through secondary education

What did it feel like presenting your work?

I enjoyed the experience. The audience were interested and supportive.

What did you enjoy most about the event?

The chance to re-engage with my work in a way that attempted to make it interesting to lay people and doctorate/PhD students.

Why would you recommend it to other students?

A good process to go through to tease out the important aspects of study to others. A good look at how secure methodologies used are. Well set up and worth the effort involved to present.

 

Ian Scott

How did you find the process of applying for the conference?

Really easy process – and the fact that the poster was printed by the Uni made the process much simpler!

What subject was your presentation/poster/display on?

My  research is looking at the experience of psychologists working with complex cases.
 
What did it feel like presenting your work?

Although I was only in the data collection stage, it was really good to get a chance to summarise my understanding, and to practice sharing information with a public audience.

Would you recommend it to other students?

Absolutely – its helped me think about how to prepare for the ultimate presentation – the Viva!

Great to be able to present the work on a single Powerpoint, and to then have a chance to answer questions by the poster. I learnt a lot from those who won best poster awards also, in how to innovatively communicate your work.

